Bessie Smith, Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out(1929)

Bessie Smith (Vocal)
Ed Allen (Cornet)
Garvin Bushell (as)
Greely Walton or Arville Harris (ts)
Clarence Williams (Piano)
Cyrus St-Clair (tu)

Once I lived the life of a millionaire
Spending my money, I didn’t care
I carried my friends out for a good time
Bying bootleg liquor, champagne and wine

Then I began to fall so low
I didn’t have a friend, and no place to go
So if I ever get my hand on a dollar again
I’m gonna hold on to it till them eagle’s green

Nobody knows you when you down and out
In my pocket not one penny
And my friends I haven’t any
But If I ever get on my feet again
Then I’ll meet my long lost friend
It’s mighty strange, without a doubt
Nobody knows you when you down and out
I mean when you down and out

Mmmmmmmm…. when you’re down and out
Mmmmmmmm… not one penny
And my friends I haven’t any
Mmmmmmmm… Well I felt so low
Nobody wants me round their door
Mmmmmmmm… Without a doubt,
No man can use you wen you down and out
I mean when you down and out

2 απαντήσεις στο Bessie Smith, Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out(1929)

  1. Ο/Η katabran λέει:

    εδώ, είμαι…

  2. Ο/Η Hypericum Perforatum λέει:

    Άννα μου,

    εγώ είμαι αλλού, αλλά πολύ αλλού…

Σχολιάστε

